RSS Feed
 Early Career Prizes in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors

Early Career Prizes in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors

Nominations are sought for the Early Career Prizes (previously Young Scientist Prizes) in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors. Two prizes are awarded biennially for outstanding contributions to semiconductor physics and its applications made by early career scientists with a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruption) following the award of the PhD. The 8-year restriction will be measured based on the application deadline of Dec. 31, 2021. The prizes will be awarded during the 35 th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS), which is to be held in Sydney, Australia from June 26 to July 1, 2022. The Prizes include commemorative IUPAP medals and 1000 Euros each and invited oral presentations at ICPS 2022.

Nomination procedure (also found at:

Nominees for the Early Career Prizes must be nominated by a senior member of the research community. Self-nominations are not accepted. A nomination for the prizes must contain the followings.
• A cover letter of not more than 1000 words by the nominator evaluating the nominee’s contributions to semiconductor physics and identifying the specific work to be recognized (up to 4 publications).
• A citation for the prize (not more than 25 words).
• A short CV of the nominee (not more than 3 pages).
• A list of publications.
• Two additional letters of endorsement of the nomination, at least one of which is not from a former supervisor of the nominee.

The nomination must be prepared in English and combined into a single consolidated PDF file, which is to be sent as an email attachment to the IUPAP-C8 Commission secretary at:, with a copy to the Commission Chair at:

The deadline for submissions of nominations is December 31, 2021.

Selection procedure 

The winners of the competition will be selected by the members of the IUPAP C8 Commission.

Previous Winners

2020 Cheng Gong & Michael Saliba                           
2018 Heejun Yang & Jean-Christophe Blancon
2016 Kimberly Dick Thelander & Samuel Stranks     
2014 Xiaodong Xu & Rahul Nair
2012 Alberto Amo & Young Woo Son                         
2010 Pablo Jarillo-Herrero & Yuanbo Zhang
2008 Lieven Vandersypen
活動資訊 / 2021-11-23
   The 19th Workshop on First-Principles Computational Materials Physics

The 19th Workshop on First-Principles Computational Materials Physics

Date: July 8th (Thur.) - 9th (Fri.), 2021
Venue: Lecture Hall, 4F, Chee-Chun Leung Cosmology Hall, National Taiwan University (NTU)Registration Web page: ... 2021workshop/registrationThe 19th Workshop on First-Principles Computational Materials Physics, organized by the Focus Groups on Computational Materials Research (CMR), will be held on July 8th-9th 2021, in the National Center for Theoretical Sciences on the campus of National Taiwan University.The aim of this workshop is to promote interactions and collaborations among local physicists who employ first-principles electronic structure calculations in their research. The program will include invited talks delivered by domestic scholars and contributed talks by postdocs or PhD students.The Program Committee would also like to take this opportunity to identify the community members’ interests and concerns in order to plan fruitful and successful activities in the future. All participants, particularly PhD students and young postdoctoral researchers, are encouraged to share their latest research results.
Thirty-minute reports by faculty members and thirty or fifteen-minute talks by postdocs or PhD students will be scheduled in the program.Please visit the workshop website for the speakers and more updated information.​If you would like to contribute a talk in the workshop, please upload your title and email our secretary by June 15 Jean when you register. ​Due to Covid-19 pandemic, the 19th workshop may be converted to a virtual meeting or postponed. We will continue to closely monitor the pandemic and the government news, and inform all participants if any change occurs.[COVID-19 Issue]1) Please ensure that you bring your own face masks and wear them at all times.
2) Please have your daily body temperature checked at the venue.
3) Please leave the staff your personal cellphone numbers for further contact if needed.
4) This workshop may be postponed or changed to online meeting,
depending on the COVID-19 development.Organizing committee:
Tay-Rong Chang - National Cheng Kung University
Yang-Hao Chan - Academia Sinica
Feng-Chuan Chuang- National Sun-Yat-Sen University
Guang-Yu Guo - National Taiwan University
Horng-Tay Jeng - National Tsing Hua University
Hsin Lin - Academia Sinica 
活動資訊 / 2021-05-31
« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6)