Guiding Principles for the Organization of Divisions under the Physical Society of Taiwan.

Approved December 8, 2018 by the Division of Academy
Reported December 8, 2018 to the Board for future reference

Article 1
Divisions may be established under the Division of Academy in accordance with corresponding research fields.

Article 2 Objectives of Divisions
Divisions aim at promoting scientific collaboration, international participation, and research excellence.

Article 3 Membership
Members of divisions are exclusively composed of interested scientists. To join a division, the prospective member is asked to inform the Physical Society of Taiwan of his or her name, affiliation, and email address, etc. Membership may be canceled at the request of either party, when the member at issue has long been out of touch, or at the discretion of the divisional executive committee for any undue conduct of a given member.

Article 4
Executive committees, working groups, or standing committees may be established under a given division if necessary.
Regulations concerning the organization of a division become effective after approval by the Division of Academy.

Article 5 Composition and functions of divisional executive committees
5.1 Governance
A division shall be governed by its corresponding executive committee. The divisional executive committee shall be responsible for the administration of the divisional affairs.
5.2 Composition of divisional executive committees
Divisional executive committees consist of chairs, co-chairs, committee members, and secretaries of individual divisions.
5.3 Meetings of divisional executive committees
Divisional executive committees shall meet at least once a year, in the form of physical meetings or by means of other communication tools, including emails.
5.4 Functions of divisional executive committee secretaries
The divisional executive committee secretaries are tasked with planning committee meetings and taking meeting minutes.

Article 6 Composition and tasks of divisional working groups
6.1 Members of divisional working groups
Divisional executive committee chairs and co-chairs form the members of divisional working groups.
6.2 Term of service
The term of service for the divisional working group members is 2 years, with an opportunity for re-election.
6.3 Roles of divisional executive committee chairs
Divisional executive committee chairs represent corresponding divisions and preside over corresponding executive committee meetings.
6.4 Roles of divisional executive committee co-chairs
6.4.1 Number of co-chairs
There may be up to 6 co-chairs in each divisional executive committee, depending on the developmental needs of individual divisions.
6.4.2 Responsibilities of co-chairs
Co-chairs are tasked with the administration of divisional affairs in relation to the division’s corresponding field of research, including setting the agenda specific to the division’s subject field to be discussed in the annual conference of the TPS.
6.5 Divisional secretaries
Secretaries may be appointed if necessary. Divisional secretaries are charged with the responsibility of managing membership, keeping members updated, and performing other assigned duties.

Article 7 Divisional standing committees
1 Honorary Advisory Committee
Divisional chairs may set up honorary advisory committees within individual divisions. An honorary advisory committee may consist of distinguished scientists or past chairs of the division for the purpose of consultation.
2 Agenda Committee
Agenda Committees are charged with setting agendas specific to individual divisions to be discussed in the annual meeting of the TPS.

Article 8
The Guiding Principles herein become effective after approval by the Division of Academy and subsequently reported to the Board for future reference. Revisions to the Guiding Principles are subject to the same procedures.