Early Career Prizes in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors

Nominations are sought for the Early Career Prizes (previously Young Scientist Prizes) in Semiconductor Physics awarded by the IUPAP C8 Commission on Semiconductors. Two prizes are awarded biennially for outstanding contributions to semiconductor physics and its applications made by early career scientists with a maximum of 8 years of research experience (excluding career interruption) following the award of the PhD. The 8-year restriction will be measured based on the application deadline of Dec. 31, 2021. The prizes will be awarded during the 35 th International Conference on the Physics of Semiconductors (ICPS), which is to be held in Sydney, Australia from June 26 to July 1, 2022. The Prizes include commemorative IUPAP medals and 1000 Euros each and invited oral presentations at ICPS 2022.

Nomination procedure (also found at:

Nominees for the Early Career Prizes must be nominated by a senior member of the research community. Self-nominations are not accepted. A nomination for the prizes must contain the followings.
• A cover letter of not more than 1000 words by the nominator evaluating the nominee’s contributions to semiconductor physics and identifying the specific work to be recognized (up to 4 publications).
• A citation for the prize (not more than 25 words).
• A short CV of the nominee (not more than 3 pages).
• A list of publications.
• Two additional letters of endorsement of the nomination, at least one of which is not from a former supervisor of the nominee.

The nomination must be prepared in English and combined into a single consolidated PDF file, which is to be sent as an email attachment to the IUPAP-C8 Commission secretary at:, with a copy to the Commission Chair at:

The deadline for submissions of nominations is December 31, 2021.

Selection procedure 

The winners of the competition will be selected by the members of the IUPAP C8 Commission.

Previous Winners

2020 Cheng Gong & Michael Saliba                           
2018 Heejun Yang & Jean-Christophe Blancon
2016 Kimberly Dick Thelander & Samuel Stranks     
2014 Xiaodong Xu & Rahul Nair
2012 Alberto Amo & Young Woo Son                         
2010 Pablo Jarillo-Herrero & Yuanbo Zhang
2008 Lieven Vandersypen